Ron Eggleton Cup – results

2nd April, 2017

The inaugural Ron Eggleton Cup took place along the club time trial course from Pink House to the club under sunny blue Spring skies as the curtain-raiser for the club’s events on the day of the University Boat Races. The fantastic new trophy was won by Sam Diserens and Debs Oakley, with a particularly close finish in the women’s event.

Following the sad death of one of the club’s longest serving and most influential members, the Eggleton family presented the club with a new trophy in memory of Ron. With the Eggleton family, it was decided that the trophy should be raced for annually as a time trial for club members to race in singles, with the trophy to be jointly awarded to the fastest man and fastest woman, after masters handicapping.

Around twenty club members entered the event, with representatives from the senior and masters men’s and women’s squads, as well as from those with no squad attachment. Larry Eggleton, Ron’s son, started from the Pink House first to lead the way down the course.

Former men’s squad member and men’s captain Sam was a clear winner in the men’s event, but the race was much closer with Mary Mortimer from the masters women very close behind Debs once the BR masters handicaps had been applied; in fact the results and calculation were checked and double-checked to ensure the result was correct! The novice event was also won by Debs, with Stephen Rose taking the honours in the men’s event.

Results – Women

Sculler Age Nov Race time Handicap time
1 Deborah Oakley Nov 17:35.7 17:35.7
2 Mary Mortimer MasE Nov 18:50.5 17:36.5
3 Liz Stoyel MasF 20:10.7 18:31.7
4 Sophie Bluff 18:31.8 18:31.8

Results – men

Sculler Age Nov Race time Handicap time
1 Sam Diserens 15:44.1 15:44.1
2 Larry Eggleton 16:21.2 16:21.2
3 Stephen Rose MasG Nov 18:20.2 16:24.2
4 Alex Marengo MasE 17:38.0 16:31.0
5 Simon De Maria MasE 17:46.1 16:39.1
6 Paul Debois MasE 17:54.1 16:47.1
7 Craig Judd MasD 17:35.2 16:48.2
8 Jamie Diserens Nov 17:00.1 17:00.1
9 Geoff Adams MasG 19:00.2 17:04.2
10 Richard Benton 17:16.2 17:16.2
11 Bill Desmond MasD 18:24.5 17:37.5
12 Sam Russell Nov 17:40.4 17:40.4
13 Tim Green MasG 19:41.0 17:45.0
14 David Kingston MasJ 22:20.0 18:50.0

No Comment


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.